North Carolina Collection: North Carolina History

There have been many histories written of the great War between the states, but they have dwelt in large part on the chief actors participating. It seemed good to us also, who were eyewitnesses, to draw up a narrative of a Company, the Unit of an Army. To portray its daily doings chiefly taken from a diary kept by Thomas J. Watkins.

A social history in North Carolina.

The North Carolina Ratification Convention and General Assembly of 1789.

Describes in marvelous detail the undeniable influence that the landscape and people of the Outer Banks had on the Wright brothers' quest for flight and, in turn, the lasting effect that their success had on this once-desolate region.

This book describes the masterful "retreat" of Nathanael Greene's Southern Army before Lord Cornwallis's British regulars in the winter of 1781. This "retreat" culminated in the Battle of Guilford Courthouse (15 March 1781), a battle that severely weakened Corwallis's forces and set the stage for the British surrender at Yorktown.

Biographical sketches of her distinguished statesmen, jurists, lawyers, soldiers, divines, etc.

This book covers history of North Carolina.

Family and personal history.

Family and Personal History.

Volume 1 covers the history of North Carolina from 1584-1783.

Family and personal history.

Family and Personal history.

The aim of this study had been to present the movement for internal improvements as it affected the State as a whole, and to discuss the most important enterprises that were undertaken during a limited period.

This is both the human and the technical story of the construction, combat, and later destruction of the Albemarle.

This book covers developments in North Carolina through 1796-1866.

A Guide to the old North Carolina.

North Carolina: The Tar Heel State tells many things which have made North Carolina great.

History, geography, and government of North Carolina.

This book is a record, pictorially and textually, of happenings in the capital city of Raleigh, North Carolina, between 1792 and 1967, the City's 175th anniversary.

This book covers the role North Carolina played in World War I.

This book covers North Carolina's role in the Spanish-American War.

This volume, "North Carolina 1780-1781", by David Schneck is a history of the invasion of the Caroinas by the Bristish Army under Lord Cornwalls with special emphasis on the Battle of Guliford Courthouse leading up to Yorktown.

This book is an overveiw of North Carolina History.

The State of North Carolina was not as quick or eager to secede from the Union as her southern neighbors. However, after the firing on Fort Sumter, South Carolina, and President Lincoln's call for 75,000 troops, the Old North State joined those already fighting for independence. North Carolina contributed and sacrificed more men for the Confederate cause than any other state.

Resources that can be found in North Carolina.

The part played by North Carolina in the War of 1812 has been neglected by historians. Much has been written about the state in the American Revolution and in the Civil War; there have been some studies of the role of North Carolina in most of the other military conflicts; almost nothing has been done on the first war following independence.

A story on reconstructing North Carolina.

An Interpretive and documentary History.

A comprehensive list of all of North Carolina's First achievements such as Fastest, Finest, etc.

Historical stories of the development of North Carolina.

North Carolina Humanities is an experiment in improving communications between those for whom the humanities are a profession and those of other professions who are concerned with humanities issues.

Over 1150 Photographs Edited and Introduced by H.G. Jones.

North Carolina in the Mexican War, 1846-1848, is one of a series of pamphlets on the role of the state in the major wars in which the United States has been involved.

Stories of history and people.

Genealogy and local history from North Carolina.

With an annual attendance of 800,000, the North Carolina State Fair is the state's largest event and is the largest 10-day agricultural fair in the United States.

Information on North Carolina through four centuries.

A compilation of trivia questions based on the great state of North Carolina.

This fourth of a projected eighteen volumes presents information on the 4th-8th Regiments N.C. State Troops (Infantry). Each section includes a regiment history, service records for the regiment's officers, histories for each of the companies in the regiment, and service records for the troops in each of the companies. An addenda containing regiment history and service record information not available in the first printing of the volume appears at the end of this reprint.

This second of a projected eighteen volumes presents information eighteen North Carolina cavalry units that served in the Civil War: 9th Regiment N.C. State Troops (1st Regiment N.C. Cavalry), 19th Regiment N.C. Troops (2nd Regiment N.C. Cavalry), 41st Regiment N.C. Troops (3rd Regiment N.C. Cavalry), 4th Battalion N.C. Cavalry, 59th Regiment N.C. Troops (4th Regiment N.C. Cavalry), 5th Battalion N.C. Cavalry, 63rd Regiment N.C. Troops (5th Regiment N.C. Cavalry), 65th Regiment N.C.

This fifth of a projected eighteen volumes presents information on six infantry units that fought in the Civil War: the 11th-15th Regiments N.C. Troops and the 13th Battalion N.C. Infantry. Each section includes a unit history, service records for the unit's officers, histories for each of the companies in the unit, and service records for the troops in each of the companies. An addenda containing unit history and service record information not available in the first printing of the volume appears at the end of this reprint.

This third of a projected eighteen volumes presents information on nine North Carolina infantry units that served in the Civil War: 1st Regiment N.C. Infantry; 1st Battalion N.C. Infantry, 1st Battalion N.C. Sharpshooters; 1st Battalion N.C. Local Defense Troops (Whitford's Battalion N.C. Partisan Rangers), 1st Regiment N.C. State Troops, 2nd Battalion N.C. Infantry, 2nd Battalion N.C. Local Defense Troops, 2nd Regiment N.C. State Troops, and 3rd Regiment N.C. State Troops.

The original o this document was found in a trunk by Robert Little, former mayor of Wadesboro. It has been transcribed as written without change to grammar and spelling.

This book includes historical facts about the state of North Carolina.

The prehistory of North Carolina spans a period of over 12,000 years, culminating with the introduction of written history in the 16th and 17th centuries.

North Carolina-The First Two Hundred Years.

A portrait of North Carolina.

A history of North Carolina.

This monograph is designed to show the manner in which a Commonwealth government was substituted for a provincial government in North Carolina.

Story of War and Battle in North Carolina.

The Way We Lived in North Carolina explores the social history of the Tar Heel State from the precolonial period to the present.

Report of the Landownership Project Conducted Under the Auspices of The Institute for Southern Studies with assistance from Duke University's Sociology Department.