North Carolina Collection: Geographical

Final Environmental Assessment.

History of the Blue Ridge Parkway in North Carolina.

Since 1871 the Cape Hatteras lighthouse has been a welcome sight for sailors entering the treacherous region off North Carolina's Outer Banks known as the Graveyard of the Atlantic.

Renowned newspaper columnist Jerry Bledsoe has found hundreds of extraordinary, one-of-a-kind attractions all across the state! This wacky, wonderful guide is your ticket to a North Carolina you never knew existed.

Spirit of the South.

A history of Charlotte, North Carolina.

A collection to show appreciation to Charlotte and Old Mecklenburg in North Carolina.

This book attempts to portray the life cycle of a small railroad in eastern North Carolina during the first half of the twentieth century.

This book covers the history of the Executive Mansion located in Raleigh, North Carolina.

This book takes you through the country inns of North Carolina. Those quaint retreats on roads less traveled by where one may "sip, sup or bed."

This book explores the various lighthouses in North Carolina.

A book on the mountains in North Carolina.

This book takes you through various places throughout the Piedmont of North Carolina.

This books take you along the seacoast of North Carolina.

This book explores villages around North Carolina.

To celebrate its fiftieth anniversary, the Carolina Geological Society invited forty-three authors to contribute to the creation of The Geology of the Carolinas.

An overview of North Carolina.

History on a stick. Tombstones on posts. History by the spoonful. The most recognizable sights along North Carolina s roadways are the familiar cast-aluminum highway historical markers that commemorate Tar Heel people and events of statewide significance. By the spring of 2007 there were a total of 1,513 markers scattered from Manteo to Murphy. Every county in the state has at least one marker.

Hoi Toide Outer Banks presents a fascinating account of the Ocracoke brogue.

A Southern Mountain fastness and its people.

How Biltmore Estate became an american icon.

Includes how lighthouses were built in the 1700s and 1800s and how lightkeepers have weathered hurricanes, erosion, and neglect.

The North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) has designated 44 Scenic Byways to give visitors and residents a chance to experience a bit of North Carolina history, geography and culture while raising awareness for the protection and preservation of these treasures.

John Lawson's A New Voyage to Carolina is one of the most sprightly and entertaining of the early narratives describing North Carolina.

A Camera profile of North Carolina.

This book sheds some insight on the physical and socioeconomic landscape of North Carolina.

Portrait of a changing southern state.

A collection of warm and delightful fragments of North Carolina's past and present.

Whether you want to fish the Outer Banks, explore the scenic Great Smoky Mountains or tour the historic sites of the Piedmont, North Carolina Traveler offers facts and insights that will guide you to the best of the Tar Heel state.

Where to find Waterfalls and how to photograph them.

First published in 1956, this popular classic tells the story of the small island of Ocracoke, certainly one of the loveliest pearls on the Outer Banks

The untold story of the Wright Brothers.

All you need to know about the Outer Banks.

North Carolina tales about train travel.

The Beginning of the English America.

The development of Rose Hill.

South Carolina Trivia is the who, what, when, where, and how book of the great state of South Carolina.

The story of The Tryon Palace Commission and the restoration 1945-1975.

Book of over 200 hikes in Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill Area.

This collection of thirty-three essays describes the changing coast from Daufuskie and Hilton Head Islands in South Carolina to the Outer Banks of North Carolina.

Its Mountains and its people to 1880.

This book delineates the differentiating qualities of the mountain people as well as their institutions, traditions, customs, arts and crafts, way of life and the literature written about them by them.

Collection of flowers in North Carolina.

This is the first guide to explore wildflowers of the North Carolina's Outer Banks.

This book also includes "A Voyage Down the Yadkin-Great Peedee River" by Douglas L. Rights.