Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Off Campus Access: Home

This guide provides instructions for accessing SPCC library resources from off campus.

Off-Campus Access

What is NC LIVE?

NC LIVE is North Carolina’s statewide online library service. Designed for at-home use, NC LIVE eBooks, magazines, newspapers, journals, media, and other online materials are available from any Internet connection. When you are not on campus, you will need to log in to the SPCC proxy server using your SPCC Moodle username and password (the same username and password that you use to access Go and Moodle) to use NC LIVE and other online library resources.

How can I access NC LIVE and other library resources from off campus?

NC LIVE and other online library resources can be accessed from the SPCC Libraries website and are listed on the Databases page: http://spcc.libguides.com/databases
When you are off campus and click on the hyperlinked database name, you will be taken to a login page, where you will enter your Moodle username and password: 

This is a screenshot of the SPCC Libraries proxy login page showing the "Use your Moodle" box where users will enter their Moodle username and password.

Are there other online resources that are not part of NC LIVE?

Yes. The SPCC Libraries have purchased additional online resources that are not part of NC LIVE. Most of these can also be accessed off campus by logging into the proxy server using your Moodle username and password. The one or two resources that are not accessible off campus have ON-CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY in their descriptions on the SPCC Libraries Databases list: http://spcc.libguides.com/databases

For the few databases and eBook collections that have a username and password different from your Moodle login information as well as for Swank, our collection of streaming movies, there is a password list linked in Moodle. When you are logged in to Moodle, scroll down to the bottom of the main page and click on this link: Additional Passwords for Library Databases 

Image of the Moodle NC LIVE off campus access box

What if I have trouble logging in?

If you have trouble logging in with your Moodle username and password, or if you are not sure what your username and password are, there are links on the right side of the login page where you can get help. The "forgot your password" option should let you reset your Moodle username and password. You may also want to go directly to Go and try to change your password there, if it has possibly expired: https://go.spcc.edu/

If you are still not able to log in, or if you have any questions about the process, please use the "contact a librarian" link under "Other Questions" on the login page. This will direct you to the contact information for reaching the SPCC Libraries during our normal operating hours (which are listed on the contact page), and for the extended-hours virtual chat service, which may be used outside our normal operating hours.

How-To Video