LibGuides: Databases: Databases A-Z

Featured Databases

Not sure where to start your research? Check out one of these popular databases!

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
LearningExpress Library/PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
Test prep resources, including practice tests for GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Perspectives on hot-button social issues such as immigration, offshore drilling, gun control, and more. This is an excellent source of information to support a persuasive speech or paper.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
Transparent Languages This link opens in a new window
Articles covering telecommunications topics, such as computer applications, data systems, radio and television.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, World History In Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people, spanning 5000 years with global scope.

Databases A-Z

Instructions for off-campus access (opens in new window)

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Accounting & Tax Database This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and other sources on accounting, taxes, banking, financial services, and related topics.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
Articles and other sources covering advanced technologies & aerospace topics.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
Provides over 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, including subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts, and timelines.
Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Covering prehistory through the 1500s, including nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and the Islamic Empire.
Arts & Humanities This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
The Atlantic This link opens in a new window
Full articles from The Atlantic (monthly) from 1993 to present.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Search for specific people, or browse categories such as Writers, Notable Women, and Artists. Over 5,300 people may be searched in this database.
Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life, biochemistry, ecology, botany, toxicology, virology, microbiology, and more.
Board Vitals This link opens in a new window
BoardVitals helps practitioners prepare for licensing and initial certification exams, maintenance of certification (MOC) requirements, and continuing professional education, covering more than 50 specialty areas and exams.
Users must register for BoardVitals. An email will be sent to verify registration. Do not click 'unsubscribe' or the email will not be sent and registration will not be complete.
Copy and paste this URL for more information.
https://39840655.fs1.hubspotusercontent-na1.net/hubfs/39840655/BoardVitals/Customer%20BoardVitals%20Registration%20Handouts/South%20Piedmont%20Community%20College%20BoardVitals%20Registration%20Instructions.pdf
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Case studies, statistical data sources, news articles, academic journals and topical reference materials organized by country, company and industry.
Career & Technical Education This link opens in a new window
Articles covering vocational education topics, such as building trades, automotive technology and more.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.
Consumer Health This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals covering sports injuries, women's health, nutrition, eye care, dentistry, and more.
Consumer Reports This link opens in a new window
Reviews and recommendations for cars, appliances, electronics, personal finance, and health information.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Find pro/ con essays and background information about current events.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Find background information on many subject areas. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, and videos.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Includes data on crime: its causes, impacts, legal and social implications, litigation and crime trends.
Cultures of the World This link opens in a new window
This collection of eBooks provides excellent cultural information from festivals and holidays to religions and family structure. You will need to use a login and password to access this content; the password can be provided by the library staff.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and other sources on earth, atmosphere & aquatic science topics.
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
Ebsco Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
Ebsco Clinical eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for use in clinical settings, biomedical libraries, and academic medical institutions, this subscription collection features nearly 2,000 quality titles that focus on medical specialties, nursing, allied health, and general practice areas.
The Economist This link opens in a new window
Full articles from The Economist (1992 to present)
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Journal database covering the study of education across all levels (early childhood through higher education).
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides discipline-specific coverage of engineering, spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Database that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
This research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today.
Faber Poetry Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of works by some of the most influential poets of the Twentieth century.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Explore careers and best practices for job searching, take a career interest assessment.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Find documentaries and educational videos on many subjects. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning content.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Science in Context covers a breadth of scientific fields, including earth science, the life sciences, microbiology, astronomy, technology, mathematics, and science history.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of reference books covering a wide range of subject areas: arts, religion, history, science, and more.
Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
Find newswire content and news archives from around the world.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE covers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Healthcare Administration This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Genealogy research database. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Digitized historical newspaper content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers. Alternate Name: Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection.
Homegrown Ebooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Ebooks from North Carolina publishers and authors. Includes fiction, non fiction and poetry.
Hoopla This link opens in a new window
Platform for audio, eBooks and movies.
To Create an account in Hoopla:
Register for an account
Provide an SPCC email and create a password
Type in "South Piedmont Community College" on search bar for the library
Library card number is the barcode on your SPCC ID (24204 + 7-digit SPCC ID number)
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Cultural, political, and social history of indigenous peoples from the seventeenth to the twentieth century.
Infobase This link opens in a new window
Infobase includes many eBook titles on religions of the world as well as blood-borne and other biological diseases.
Journal for Vascular Ultrasound This link opens in a new window
Journal covering new research developments in the field of Vascular Ultrasound
Journal of Ultrasound in Medicine This link opens in a new window
Articles dealing with diagnostic ultrasound, particularly its direct application to patient care, but also relevant basic science, advances in instrumentation, and biologic effects.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR Open Access Content This link opens in a new window
Open access to JSTOR and ARTSTOR content.
JSTOR: Language and Literature Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, including literary criticism on popular and obscure titles.
JSTOR Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Ebooks and journals from renowned scholarly publishers.
Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
General literature information as well as scholarly literary criticism.
LearningExpress Library/PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
Test prep resources, including practice tests for GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are as well as critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
Articles on topics across all government and military branches.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of fully hyperlinked subject entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources, and timeline entries combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
NC LIVE is a cooperative library service for the students, faculty, business people, and residents of North Carolina, providing access to databases, electronic journals and magazines, newspapers, eBooks, audio books, and videos.
The New Yorker This link opens in a new window
Full articles from The New Yorker (2002 to present).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database is a portal for computer-assisted legal research, newspaper search, and consumer information.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
Readers’ advisory resource covering fiction, nonfiction, and audiobook recommendations.
Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Perspectives on hot-button social issues such as immigration, offshore drilling, gun control, and more. This is an excellent source of information to support a persuasive speech or paper.
OverDrive This link opens in a new window
Popular fiction and non-fiction audio and eBooks from Dogwood Digital Library available to students through Overdrive.
To use:
-Click on the database link above
-Find South Piedmont Community College from the drop-down menu
-Enter your SPCC email and password
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political science articles on topics such as comparative politics, political economy and international development
ProQuest: eLibrary This link opens in a new window
General reference collection of periodical and digital media content designed for school curriculum and research support.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window
Watch videos that teach you the process of writing research papers.
Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
Articles on a wide variety of topics relating to clinical and social psychology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Database provided by the National Institutes of Health that includes 26 million citations for biomedical and health literature. Subject coverage includes: biology, microbiology, nursing, sonography, radiation therapy, healthcare administration and policy, nutrition, public health, and much more.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library contains a collection of health science textbooks, including resources on EKG interpretation, medical terminology, pharmacology, complementary and alternative medicine, and nursing subspecialties.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies.
Science Journals This link opens in a new window
Science articles on topics such as global warming, energy, robotics, genetically modified food, and more.
Social Science Journals This link opens in a new window
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Sociology and social work research including social structure, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
STAT!Ref: National Library Alliance This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref is a collection of reference books focused on the medical and health fields, including many basic reference sources for nursing, surgical technology, medical assisting, and more.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistics about the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
Articles covering telecommunications topics, such as computer applications, data systems, radio and television.
Transparent Languages This link opens in a new window
Articles covering telecommunications topics, such as computer applications, data systems, radio and television.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History in Context provides a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues, and current information.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is a good source for reporting and research on current events at the national and international level. Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, World History In Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people, spanning 5000 years with global scope.

Ask a Librarian

Have questions about anything? Click the Ask a Librarian link to get assistance.

Looking for More?

Looking for more database options? Check out nclive.org to access over 90 databases.

Dogwood Digital Library

South Piedmont has partnered with other North Carolina Community College libraries to provide students with access to a collection of audiobook and eBook materials. Visit Dogwood Digital Library to view thousands of titles. You can also read/listen on your mobile device by downloading the free Libby app.

How do I login to Dogwood Digital?
From your computer:

Visit Dogwood (dogwood.overdrive.com)
Look for the "Sign In" button on the right side of the page
In the “Select your library” drop-down choose “South Piedmont Community College”
Click the "Sign in" button belong
Log in using your South Piedmont Single Sign On credentials
Enjoy Dogwood Digital Library!

From Your Phone/Tablet

Download the Libby app
Select South Piedmont Community College as your library
Log in using your South Piedmont Single Sign On credentials
Enjoy Dogwood Digital Library!