Select a topic that meets your instructor's criteria and isn't too big or too small. Look for topics where you can make several points and counterpoints, or rebuttals. Selecting a topic conducive to elaboration will ensure your topic is not to narrow. Conversely, if your topic appears to be too broad, select some key points or events within your topic to focus on. Your topic also needs to be academic enough so that you can demonstrate good research techniques, as well as demonstrate your best writing skills. Lastly, select a topic that you care about. This way you won't get bored with research and your interest in the topic will motivate you to write an outstanding research paper!
Not sure how to get started with selecting a research topic? This video walks you through the basics of selecting a subject of interest to you, and how to utilize library databases to select a topic.
Below are some databases which will provide you with background information on various topics. Utilize the "spider web" feature in Credo or the "related items" feature in ProQuest to assist you in finding the path to a focused, solid topic.
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research on any subject. All the information comes from a collection of nearly 800 reference books, spanning a wide breadth of subject areas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of reference books covering a wide range of subject areas: arts, religion, history, science, and more.
ProQuest Central is a good starting point for researching a wide range of subject areas; it is a general reference database covering over 175 subjects with content from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries on more than 528,000 individuals, spanning a wide scope of history and geography.
When conducting academic research on hot topics:
Choose your sources carefully (avoid misinformation)
Understand the author's bias or agenda.
Focus on the facts in your argument.
Recognize the emotional aspect of discussing controversial topics.
Below are some databases which may give you some ideas for selecting a hot topic.
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Opposing Viewpoints is an excellent resource for perspectives on hot-button social issues such as immigration, offshore drilling, gun control, and more. This is an excellent source of information to support a persuasive speech or paper.
The Wall Street Journal is a good source for reporting and research on current events at the national and international level.
This database indexes news content from many national and international newspapers, newswires, and selected news magazines.