LibGuides: HIS 132: Final

Three legacies of the New Deal

The link below is to an article about the New Deal that lists many of the programs the New Deal implemented. It is a great article to read to get ideas for what to search to answer this question: https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3045301747/WHIC?u=nclivespcc&sid=WHIC&xid=a381e0df

This article is titled The New Deal, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., found in World History Online database.

World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, World History In Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people, spanning 5000 years with global scope.

Try searching for:

social security
fdic

National Labor Relations Board
Wagner Act information.

Growth of American military involvement in Vietnam 1960-65

World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, World History In Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people, spanning 5000 years with global scope.

Vietnam War
This is a good, general overview of the major players and timeline of the war. This article comes from World History in Context database.

Consider of the the information and notable players gleaned from overviews about the Vietnam War.

Such players and ideas as:

Ho Chi Minh
Gulf of Tonkin
Cold War
Fear of communism
Lyndon B Johnson and Vietnam War
Ngo Dinh Diem

Who was responsible for the Cold War?

World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, World History In Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people, spanning 5000 years with global scope.

Search for "cold war" and find a plethora of articles. The article on the top of the screen in the Overview section is a great article to read to gain an understanding of the topic and to find some key search terms.

What are lessons from the Civil Rights Movement of the 50's and 60's?

World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, World History In Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people, spanning 5000 years with global scope.

Try searching for individual people and movements such as:

Congress of Racial Equality core
Martin Luther King, Jr.
NAACP
Civil Rights Act
Voting rights Act
Black Panthers
Malcolm X
Brown v Board of Education