Responses to the language assignment questions may be found in the databases below. Remember that you will need to cite your sources using MLA and the library databases have citations ready-made, thus making them a great resource. Plus, they are reputable, which is an assignment requirement.
Tips for researching the calendar assignment:
Look at several sites and make sure the information that you are finding is the same on all the sites.
Look at the About Us tab on websites to find out what organization, company, or person has created the site.
Many sites have converters, which may assist with part of the assignment.
Specifics:
Jewish- try searching for 'hebrew calendar' as well as 'jewish month', 'jewish year'.
Islamic-try searching for 'islamic month' and 'islamic calendar beginning'.
Japanese-they have a Zodiac calendar, which may be an interesting aspect of the project.
Chinese- try searching for 'chinese calendar beginning'. There are many sites that pop up that may not be good for this project. Concentrate on .edu and .org sites.
Mayan-try searching for 'mayan calendar origin'.
Hindu-try searching for 'hindu calendar beginning' (or 'origin' or 'history')
Persian-try searching for 'ancient persian calendar'.
French Revoution- try search for 'french republican calendar".
Databases:
The databases found on the library's website have information that will assist you with this project. To access the databases, click on NCLive Quicklinks and look through a list of databases, or click on the Electronic Resources tab in this LibGuide. To access the databases off-campus, enter the user name and password you use for Moodle.
Ancient and Medieval History Online
Cultures of the World (find the user name and password for this database by logging into Moodle. Under the heading SPCC Libraries, look for "Additional Passwords for Library Databases"
Gale Virtual Reference Library
ProQuest Religion
World and Its Peoples
World History in Context
This assignment requires students to use a library resource such as a database, book, or eBook. See the list of databases on the "Find Articles" page of this Research Guide. This will have information about the people assigned for this project. Not every database listed will have information about a specific person though, so you may need to search through multiple databases.