LibGuides: Foreign Language: Welcome

Welcome!

Welcome to your Foreign Language Subject Guide! Here you will find tabs for each foreign language offered at SPCC. Each tab provides many resources, including books, eBooks, articles, multimedia, and open access resources. In addition, the welcome page of this guide contains resources pertaining to all foreign language classes.

Catalog Search

Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Find background information on many subject areas. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, and videos.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
JSTOR: Language and Literature Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, including literary criticism on popular and obscure titles.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
Transparent Languages This link opens in a new window
Articles covering telecommunications topics, such as computer applications, data systems, radio and television.

Open Access Resources

Speechling

Speechling can help you improve your pronunciations and speaking rhythm. Through this website, you can listen to recordings, describe a picture, and write your own content and then record yourself before sending it to a teacher. When on the website, click on your desired language at the bottom of the home screen.

Forvo

Forvo is a pronunciation dictionary that uses native speakers to help you learn the correct pronunciation of words in different languages. When on the website, click on the "Pronunciation" drop-down menu and select your desired language.

How to learn any language easily

SPCC Information

To access a librarian virtually, click on https://spcc.libguides.com/contact-us and type your question in the Ask a Librarian box.

Foreign Language

Dana Glauner

Hoopla

Films on Demand