Stephen Robertson's BC: Before Computers is a work which questions the idea that the mid-twentieth century saw a single moment of rupture. It is about all the things that we had to learn, invent, and understand - all the ways we had to evolve our thinking - before we could enter the information technology revolution of the second half of the twentieth century.
With this visual guide to computer programming for beginners, it has never been easier to learn how to code. Coding skills are in high demand and the need for programmers is still growing. Covering three of the most popular languages for new coders, this book uses a graphic method to break complex subjects into user-friendly chunks, bringing essential skills within easy reach.
Cloud computing is no longer just a clever new toy in the world of IT infrastructure. Despite the nebulous name, it's become a real and important part of our information architecture--and tech professionals who ignore it or try to skim their way through risk falling behind rapidly.
Who are computer hackers? What is free software? And what does the emergence of a community dedicated to the production of free and open source software--and to hacking as a technical, aesthetic, and moral project--reveal about the values of contemporary liberalism?
Provides a strong foundation of cybercrime knowledge along with the core concepts of networking, computer security, Internet of Things (IoTs), and mobile devices.
In this book, you'll: Take control of your program flow Program with classes, objects, and methods Use Java's functional programming features Explore Java 17, the latest long-term support release This up-to-date handbook covers the latest developments in Java, including the new 'switch' statement syntax.
This fast-paced, thorough introduction will have you writing programs, solving problems, and developing functioning applications in no time... If you've been thinking about digging into programming, Python Crash Course will provide you with the skills to write real programs fast. Why wait any longer? Start your engines and code! Covers Python 3.x
Virtual reality might seem like the stuff of science fiction, but it has been in use in various forms since the 1950s. The technology is being developed for use in education, professional and military training, therapy, entertainment, and design. But is a simulated world a better world?
Cybersecurity discusses the evolving nature of Internet-based attacks, the vulnerabilities of individuals and corporations to these threats, and the hackers who carry out or defend against cyberattacks. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
This eBooks collection includes 26,000 books, including fictional, reference, scholarly, and professional works.
Ebsco Academic eBook Collection
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
The IEEE Computer Society Digital Library (CSDL) is the first-ever digital library evolved in IEEE. It provides online access to 33 magazines and transactions and more than 600,000 in-depth, peer-reviewed articles and papers related to cybersecurity, big data, cloud computing, agile, artificial intelligence, smart systems, mobile, wearables, and other leading-edge technology areas.
Your first podcast of the week is the last word in tech news. Join the top tech journalists and pundits in a roundtable discussion of the latest trends in tech.
Programming Throwdown educates Computer Scientists and Software Engineers on a cavalcade of programming and tech topics.
Faculty and students from the South East Technology University (SETU) Ireland explore a wide range of topics related to computing and technology. Hosted by Rob O'Connor.
A Career in Computer Engineering by
Computer engineers founded some of the world's most successful Internet companies including Facebook and Amazon. Others in the computer engineering field earn six-figure salaries at Intel, Apple, and other leading tech firms. What the job entails, what it pays, and future prospects for computer engineers are discussed along with insights from industry insiders.
Careers in Computer Science by
Careers in computer science are among the hottest, most in-demand occupations in the United States today. Comments from people in the industry, current statistics and forecasts, and realistic descriptions provide a useful look at computer science jobs ranging from software developers to information security analysts to database administrators.
Computer and Video Game Design by
Careers in Focus: Computer and Video Game Design, Second Edition covers 20 careers in this fun field. Job profiles include: Advertising workers Art directors Artists and animators Business managers Computer and video game designers Computer programmers Computer support specialists Game testers Graphics programmers Hardware engineers Packaging designers Software engineers Sound workers Webmasters Writers and editors and more.
Top Careers in Two Years by
Top Careers in Two Years: Computers and Information Technology examines professions in this growing field that are available to students with two-year degrees.Job profiles include:Computer programmer Comput
The credentials to access this eBook are:
Username: library@spcc.edu
Password: Sonebooks!