Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS 112: Nuremberg Assignment

This guide is intended to assist students with research and creating correct MLA citations for their assignments.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an excellent resource for starting the research process. In addition to using the Credo search box below, also take a look at some of the research guides that Credo Reference has built for their users: 

Library Databases

Organizations that Fight Against Genocide

There are some organizations that fight against genocide and these organizations have websites.  These websites may give you a good idea about where to begin your research on a recent genocide trial and more in-depth information about genocide.

Research Defendants

First, go to the Yale Law School website (a link is provided in the reading assignment for this module) and research the Nuremberg Trials (“Indictment of Nazi War Criminals”). There is a wealth of information at this site; focus mainly on the four main charges (“Counts”), and on Appendix A and Appendix B. It will also be helpful to research beyond this, either at the Yale Law School site or from other sources provided.

Then, create a Powerpoint,  addressing all  the questions below.   Be sure to follow all the directions and answer all the questions thoroughly.

 I. Of the 24 Nazi leaders indicted, select and write a bio of three of the defendants:  Provide their titles/positions in the Nazi leadership, the charges against them, and the ultimate outcome of their respective cases (verdict for each count, sentence, whether the sentence was carried out, etc.). Was there a particular reason why you selected these three?  (About 2-3 slides per defendant.)  Include pictures of the defendants.

Along with the Yale Law School Site, or Avalon Project (http://avalon.law.yale.edu/imt/count.asp), additional information may be found on other websites as well.  Look for .org or lawschool websites for information about the Nuremberg Trials. UMKC has a site about the Nuremberg Trials that could be very helpful.  An example of a page from UMKC is http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/nuremberg/

meetthedefendants.html.  Do a search for 'Nuremberg' from the UMKC homepage to find more information. 

There are also YouTube videos of parts of the trials.

The Jewish Virtual Library https://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/ has information about the Nuremberg Trials as well. From the home page, click on the picture labeled 'Holocaust' and then under the heading Persecution, click on 'Nazi War Crimes'. On the next page, find 'Nuremberg Trial' and click on it. You will find trial proceedings, testimonies and judgments.

Research a War Crimes Trial or Genocide

II.  Research this: Find a recent or current war crimes/genocide trial (Rwanda or Bosnia would be good examples) and write a brief (3-4 slides) summary of the case: some of the facts and circumstances of the case, names/positions of the accused and the charges, and either the final disposition of the case or its current status.  List at least two reputable sources.

  • The database Opposing Viewpoints has information about genocide and articles about specific incidences of genocide.  
  • The database Films on Demand has video footage and newsreels of and about the trials.
  • World History in Context database has articles, audio clips, primary resources, news, magazine and website links on the Bosnian and Rwandan genocide. 
  • Try searching about genocide in Guatemala, Argentina and Darfur as well.

Opposing Viewpoints, Films on Demand, America's Historical Newspaper and World History in Context databases may be accessed through this LibGuide by clicking on the Electronic Resources tab and scrolling through the databases listed.  To access the databases from off campus, enter the user name and password you use for Moodle into the box displayed after clicking on a database link.  When you are on-campus, you do not need a password to access databases.